[article] Ninja Assassin on 20th Century’s top ten ninja movies list.

Cloud cover by: Stephe, Managing Editor ^@@^

I ran into this article on ComicMix this afternoon, and I have to say 20th Century Home Entertainment hit it right on the head with their Top 10 Ninja Movies list—at least for me, they did.

As an aficionado of the old “Black Belt Theater” and ninja movies of the 70s, 80s, and 90s, I understood what McTeigue was doing with Ninja Assassin (starring Rain and Master Shô Kosugi) and I appreciated the heck out of the homage. Not to mention, Rain committed some unforgettable Badassery with “Raizo”. (Who wouldn’t want “Raizo” in their corner, or to rescue/be rescued by him? Don’t lie. That character was a beast and Rain was hella-fine in his skin. He didn’t just play the part, he all but transformed himself into that tragic, brooding killing machine. Wow.)

But it wasn’t only Rain’s movie that grabbed me in Robert Greenberger’s article.

Seven Samurai (with Toshirô Mifune), Ninja Scroll, Revenge of the Ninja (starring Master Shô), Kill Bill, and Enter the Ninja (starring Master Shô and Franco Nero) are all old favorites of mine that I will continue to watch until time immemorial. My son grew up on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles—that is something we will always share and revisit, because a kid with a good hero (in a single parent household, especially) is a win-win. While American Ninja isn’t necessarily a favorite, it was a fun way to spend a couple of hours on a Saturday afternoon. That’s eight of the ten. Which means I should probably check out the other two.

An additional contribution to the list that I would make is anything from the Zatoichi: The Blind Swordsman movie series—just take your pick.

A very nice write-up, Greenberger.

Stephe @cloudusa.wordpress.com / www.cloudusa.org

°

ComicMix 6/18/2011 — by Robert Greenberger

Are These the Top 10 Ninja Movies? [excerpt]

Coming this week is the home video release of The Warrior’s Way and 20th Century Home Entertainment thought it might be a good time to examine the ninja film genre and determine which are the ten best. Their hope is that audiences will want to add the film starring Geoffrey Rush (Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides), Kate Bosworth (Superman Returns), Danny Huston (Clash of the Titans) and introducing to American fans international sensation Jang Dong Gun. Our review will appear soon and you can always judge for yourself.

Meantime, here are 20th’s Top 10. Did they get it right or miss one?

….

NINJA ASSASSIN

With its release in 2009, this ninja tale about a trained assassin has recently won its spot in top ninja movies. Raizo waits the day he can get his revenge on a secret society for killing his child-hood best friend. Raizo ends up being hunted down through the streets of Europe in what is one of the most action and bloody-packed ninja movies around.

….

» You can read Robert Greenberger’s article in its entirety, and see all ten movies on 20th Century’s list, on the ComicMix website HERE.

~ by Cloud USA on June 18, 2011.

15 Responses to “[article] Ninja Assassin on 20th Century’s top ten ninja movies list.”

  1. Just so you know, when I was a little girl my dad took me to Saturday’s matinee too and guess what we used to see the most? Yep, martial arts movies!!! My mom worked Saturdays so we spent that time seeing movies. I love them and it was fun to see those people jumping, screaming and trying to kill each other. Damn, I was a strange girl. LOL!! My mind was filled with those stories so I grew up loving martial arts. Never took a class cuz my mom didn’t allowed me. Sighh. Anyway, to me Ninja Assassin was amazing cuz it shows this ruthless guy trained to be an assassin in all his complicated self. We see the human and the fighter which is something you don’t see most of the time. Those fight secuences were out of this world but they kept them mostly real. NA is going to be one of those movies that will get recognition with time cuz Rain made Raizo a legend.

    Like

  2. I agree. Ninja Assassin was one of the best action movies in 2009. Rain was so diligent in his training and it showed through the movie. I admire his determination and energy. It is refreshing to read that Rain was recognized and it proves why he is a World Star.

    Much Love Rain,

    XOXO-Rogue

    Like

  3. i love rain Ninja Assassin like it have seem serval time and i very enjoy the sction kick ass of rain he very give it all in that acting and even show how encourage of his traning i love the movie i was so LUCKY enough of get his FREE SCREEM to with rain in the L. A. Theather ahahah the man is so enjoy his Pop-cron and interiew too btw.. tha rain must be so excited to hear all those lasie screaming everything he show his SEXY abs O_O u know i would be here them screaming for me eekekek 🙂
    well Razio are the best in new CENTRY movies and i hope looking forward his Next HOLLYWOODS movies and perhape with AL painco ahah

    Like

  4. i love it..;)

    Like

  5. Of course!!!! For me it’s the best ninja movie ever!!! I remember just the day the movie came out on theaters I couldn’t get over it and I went for the next 7 days to watch it at the movie theater over and over again. I know it sounds crazy… but I couldn’t take my eyes off of him… When it came on DVD you can imagine I pre-ordered it so I can have it right away. It was insane and so sexy and the fighting scenes couldn’t be better. They need to make another martial arts movie with him. It’ll be as awesome as Ninja Assassin. Love you Ji Hoon!! 😉

    Like

  6. In the meantime, the following are pics (supposedly) of how South Korean soldiers train……………………….

    http://www.feastoffun.com/topics/people/2010/08/12/south-korean-soldier-training/

    http://www.pinknews.co.uk/aroundtheworld/2008/08/south-korean-soldiers-aka-the-asian-beach-boys/

    http://izismile.com/2010/01/12/the_annual_winter_military_exercises_in_south_korea_14_pics.html

    http://www.zimbio.com/pictures/BwkRV23i95w/South+Korean+Soldiers+Undertake+Mountain+Training/Hk_DcSBLV0d

    http://www.life.com/image/72560210

    Like

    • I see nooooo problem for JiHoon at all. He’ll have this beat. He’s in too good a shape and too stubborn not to. Haha!

      (your searches continue to intrigue me, BiA… heheh)

      Stephe ^@@^

      Like

      • I’ll take that as a compliment……….I think (SMILES).

        Like

        • Bia thanks for the info. OMG, I soo want to see that training when Rain is doing it. Yummie!!! They are almost in their Birthday suit!! Are they training for the military or for a new stripper’s show? it’s difficult to say, don’t you think? LOL!! I don’t mean it in a disrespectful way but those vids are revealing to say the least. Damn!! I wanna be in there, right on the middle of it. Just to tell them to keep the good work!!

          Like

          • No “prob” Mari, hey all I can say is it’s the SEXIEST military training I’VE ever seen. You know when you were school age, and saw on TV military drills with young recruits marching up and down a field. Believe me, I would’ve REMEMBERED if I had seen soldiers training in speedos on the beach!! I would love to see Bi too, but he “pretends” to be SO SHY to be shown from the waist down (at least in concert) SMILES. Yeah, it’s Poppycock…..he ain’t shy. You remember what he told the reporter from Reelz Channel when he was promoting Ninja Assassin, “Enjoy my body” (as he was referring to how sexy his “Raizo” character was). When I heard that, all I could think was…”Baby Love….IF ONLY”!!!! (SMILES)

            Like

            • LOL.
              I went to a military college myself, and let me tell you, nothing can beat military drills or cadets in uniform–well, except real soldier MEN in uniform, of course. Even the early morning drills that passed by the girls’ dorms were nice wake-up calls most weekday mornings (Even more interesting were the cadences, which were often directed to the “ladies” they knew would be listening. Snicker.)

              And the military parades were spectacular sights. Ah. Fond memories of a much simpler time in my life… :-}

              Terri :-}

              Like

  7. Stephe,

    I see you are walking down memory lane today as well. My Saturday mornings were filled with old martial arts movies as well. I have to say I agree with you on American Ninja, but hey, if you like Ninja/martial arts movies you watched it anyway…….just cause. (SMILES) Kids miss out these days on those old movies, they really do. I guess X-Box is the thing these days. Anyway, I feel like Felisshi and might pull out NA and look at some sexy Raizo “swagga” today. (SMILES) You know I can’t say I have separation anxiety just yet, but I Am ready for “SUMP’UM” new from Baby Love. (SMILE)

    Like

    • Yeah, I sure am!

      And I don’t think I’ll ever get over this movie. I’ll be 95 and telling people for the thousandth time, “Lookee here, sonny boy, I remember when Ninja Assassin was kicking new @ss and you were only a twinkle in your daddy’s eye” or something ridiculous like that. ROFL

      I’ll probably spend some time with Raizo myself tonight, after our scrapbooking. Ahhhh. Can’t wait.

      Stephe ^@@^

      Like

  8. This article about Ninjas got me fired up. Excuse me for a while, I’ll just watch Ninja Assassin…I’m in the mood for a bloody action packed movie. Actually I miss his long hair….no, the truth is I miss him. It’s been almost 3 weeks since I have seen him in his last concert and he’s almost out of circulation lately. I hope he’ll show up somewhere in Korea where they could snap his pictures and post them on fb. Imagine not seeing him for the next two years. I’m already having separation anxiety just thinking about it. Oh well…

    Like

Hey there. Welcome! What's your point of view?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.